top of page

Behind the Scenes: Crafting Sustainable Lingerie in Our UK Studio

At Maeve Design Studio, I take pride in not only creating exquisite handmade lingerie, but also doing so with a strong commitment to sustainability. My small studio in the UK is where the magic happens, and I want to invite you behind the scenes to see how I bring sustainable lingerie to life.


Coral pink crepe de chine bralette with covered straps on flat on top of matching fabric and ivory embroidery lace. Stalk embroidery scissors and silver rings and sliders to the side. Text: Slow Lingerie Design Maeve Design Studio.

Craftsmanship with a Purpose

Crafting lingerie isn't just about creating beautiful garments; it's about making conscious choices that benefit both you and the planet. Here's a glimpse of our sustainable approach:


1. Ethical Sourcing: I carefully select materials that are ethically sourced and environmentally friendly. From deadstock fabrics to natural fibres, our choices reflect our commitment to responsible production.


2. Handmade-to-Order: Unlike mass-produced lingerie, every piece I create is made to order. This reduces waste and ensures that each garment is tailored to your unique specifications.


3. Small-Batch Production: I embrace small-batch production to minimize our environmental footprint. It allows me to focus on quality rather than quantity.


4. Local Craftsmanship: All of our lingerie is crafted by a one-woman-team right here in the UK. Supporting local craftsmanship not only reduces transportation emissions but also promotes supports local communities.


5. Sustainable Packaging: I use eco-friendly packaging materials, from recycled tissue paper to sugarcane mailers, to ensure that my commitment to sustainability extends to every aspect of your purchase.


6. Waste Reduction: Fabric scraps generated during the production process are repurposed or recycled. I always exploring creative ways to reduce waste!


7. Slow Fashion Philosophy: I advocate for slow fashion, emphasizing timeless designs and quality construction that lasts. My lingerie pieces are designed to be cherished for years, not just a season!


Your Role in Sustainability


As a customer of Maeve Design Studio, you play a crucial role in the sustainability journey. By choosing handmade, ethically crafted lingerie, you're making a conscious choice to support eco-friendly practices and reduce the fashion industry's impact on the environment.


Stay Tuned for More


I believe in transparency and sharing my commitment to sustainability. Stay tuned to my blog for more insights into my processes, eco-friendly lingerie care tips, and home sewing tips.


Thank you for joining us behind the scenes at our UK studio. Together, we can make a difference, one beautifully crafted piece of lingerie at a time.





Comments


bottom of page