top of page

Blue Valentine: Making a pink and blue lace lingerie set

Updated: Feb 4, 2023


Size 8 white model wearing blue lace lingerie bra and knickers with hot pink crochet elastic trim. Cross over straps on front bralette. Thee front and side poses stood in front of blue background. Text "Blue Valentine"

This year for Valentine's Day I wanted to make something a bit different. I made the usual red and pink sets of course, but I fancied trying some new colour combos while still keeping to the Valentine's theme. To get some inspiration, I had a rummage through my fabric and elastic boxes; I found a stretch, navy blue lace and a hot pink elastic trim. I really love the combo of the pink and blue; it reminds me of retro neon lights.


Mood board with neon "roller disco" sign, pink neon butterflies, pink and blue  lightening bolts and "Born Die Alone" sign. Photo from Pose TV show, black model wearing bra and knickers with disco ball effect, close up of black model wearing sequin top and sunglasses and close up of white model face with disco ball effect.

The next step was to choose which style to make. I decided to make a different style to my red Valentine's set and I wanted it to be fun and cheeky, so I decided to alter my Classic Tanga and Celeste Bra patterns. I drew up a few quick sketches of possible alterations before finalising my designs.


I then traced off the patterns and began drafting the new seam lines and shapes. I didn't have enough lace (or patience) to make a toile so I had to be extra careful that I was drawing shapes I was happy with. Altering a pattern that you already own is a great way to create new designs without having to draft a pattern from scratch, especially if you are happy with the fit of the existing pattern.


I am obsessed with the final outcome! I especially love the cut out style on the bra cups and I think I am going to develop this design further to improve the fit.


Size 8 white model wearing blue lace lingerie bra and knickers with hot pink crochet elastic trim. Cross over straps on front bralette. Thee front and side poses stood in front of blue background. Text "Blue Valentine"

Do you like the blue and pink combination? Have you made anything for Valentine's day?







4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page